Qualifying update, March 11

None of Camden County’s incumbent elected officials will be opposed in this year’s election, but several qualified in races where there was a vacancy.

The following people qualified this week to run for county, state and federal offices by the deadline on Friday, March 11:


Board of Education District 1 (nonpartisan)

• Jason Chance

• Terry Mack Sr. 

Board of Education District 3 (nonpartisan)

• Jimmy Coffel (incumbent)

Board of Education District 5 (nonpartisan)

• Steven R. Blount 

• Mark Giddens

• Farran Fullilove

• Ronnie Wise

Probate judge (nonpartisan)

• Beau Sweatt (incumbent) 

Chief magistrate judge (nonpartisan)

• Jennifer Lewis (incumbent)


• Jim Proctor (incumbent), Independent

Board of Commissioners District 1

• Lannie Brant, Republican

• Charles Clark, Republican

• Randy Gunter, Republican

• Donald Glover Jr., Democrat

Board of Commissioners District 3

• Jimmy Starline (incumbent), Republican

Board of Commissioners District 5

• Ben Casey, Republican

• Richard Brown, Republican

• Ruben Gomez, Democrat

Clerk of Superior Court 

• Joy Lynn Turner (incumbent), Republican

Tax commissioner 

• Beth Soles (incumbent), Republican

County coroner 

• L.W. Bruce (incumbent), Republican

County surveyor

• Matt Jordan (incumbent), Republican



State Senate, District 3

• William Ligon (incumbent), Republican 

State House, District 174

• John Corbett (incumbent), Republican

State House, District 180

• Jason Spencer (incumbent), Republican

District attorney — Brunswick 

• Jackie Johnson (incumbent), Republican

Superior Court judge — Harrison (nonpartisan)

• Anthony Harrison (incumbent)

Superior Court judge — Scarlett (nonpartisan)

• Stephen Scarlett (incumbent)

Superior Court judge — Wilkes (nonpartisan)

• Bert Guy

• Richard H. Taylor

Superior Court judge — Kelley (nonpartisan)

• Stephen Kelley (incumbent)



U.S. Senate — Isakson

• Mary Kay Baccallao, Republican

• Jim Barksdale, Democratic

• Cheryl Copeland, Democrat

• John F. Coyne III, Democrat

• Derrick “Tmot” Grayson, Republican

• Johnny Isakson (incumbent), Republican

• James Knox, Democrat

U.S. House, District 1

• Earl "Buddy" Carter (incumbent), Republican

Tribune & Georgian

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 6960
St. Marys, GA 31558

Phone: 912-882-4927
Fax: 912-882-6519